Special Programming

Recently Big8Radio tabulated and played back The Top 100 of the 60's based on listener votes. Here is the chart of the results:

2019 Top 100 Chart-rev

Daily Features on Big 8 Radio

NEW!! Motown In the Morning

Every weekday morning at 8 tune in for an hour of Motown Sounds as we celebrate Motown's 60th! The record label turns 60, and we have a solid 60 minutes of Motown Hits, lesser known songs, B-sides, unreleased tracks and Lost and Found Treasures to play for you. It's new - and it starts Monday June 10!

The Big 8 Break / 8 Times Day

Big 8 Radio not only pays tribute to all the former personalities of the Drake Era CK with Top of The Hour ID's, but you can hear them on the Big 8 Breaks. Big 8 Breaks are short 3-5 minute edited segments of actual Classic Big 8 CKLW Radio shows gathered up from the 60's and 70's featuring some of the BEST Radio DJ's ever: Tom Shannon, Dave Shafer, Ted Richards, Pat Holiday, Bill Gable, Steve Hunter, Frank Brodie, Jim Jackson, Super Max Kinkel, Johnny Williams and Gary Burbank. Also the 20/20 News Anchors are featured, people like Dick Smyth, Byron MacGregor, Steve Madely, Lee Marshall, Grant Hudson, Randall Carlisle and MORE.

Classic CKLW Commercials and Classic CKLW Weather Hourly at 10 past.

Wait, is that today's forecast? NO! It's from 40 or 50 years ago. Those commercials feature 1960's and 70's cars, banks, toothpaste, album releases, movies and department stores! A mini time-trip.

 

Weekly Shows on Big 8 Radio

The Friday All Request Hour / 12noon and 7pm Eastern

On Friday's we turn the Lunch Hour over to you! Make your request from the 50's, 60's or 70's and we'll get it on! Monday's we start a new request thread on our Facebook group page - or drop us a note on Instagram. The Friday All Request Hour is heard every Friday at Noon Eastern / 9am Pacific and repeated 7pm Eastern / 4pm Pacific.

Lost Gold Hour / Wednesday 5pm Eastern

Lost Gold can be any song from the 50's, 60's or 70's that just never quite made the top of the charts. It could have been a Hitbound or a song that climbed all the way to #25 and stalled out - an album cut or a 45 flip side. We'll dig them out of the basement "GrooveYard" every Wednesday at 5pm Eastern / 2pm Pacific.

Specials

Listen for Special Shows on Big8Radio.com like the CKLW Big30 Countdowns, our 'All-DJ' hour called "Jock-a-Palooza" or all-day specials like our Motown 60th Celebration. We'll also on occasion pay tribute to our musical stars with hourly spotlights on birthdays or remembrances of their passing throughout the day.

 

Big 8 Radio is heard Coast to Coast in Canada and the USA!

CLICK to Listen LIVE

Social Media